|Viera Court House Map
2825 Judge Fran Jamieson Way,
Viera, FL 32940
|Melbourne Court House Map
51 Nieman Ave.
Melbourne, FL 32901
|Titusville Court House Map
506 S. Palm Ave.
Titusville, FL 32796
Other Counties Clerk of Courts Links & F.A.Q. //
Complete sunrise & sunset data for one day. . . .
You must obtain a marriage license from the state of Florida. However, your license may be obtained at any courthouse in Florida and does not have to be purchased in the county in which you are being married.
Waiting Period: Out of State and Out of Country residents only - NO WAITING PERIOD! Florida residents have a three day waiting period; unless premarital course is obtained prior to application for license.
All parties must be present with a picture identification card, the application number from the marriage license kiosk, and the applicable marriage license fee to complete the process.
No blood test or physical. Both bride & groom must be present with a picture identification card and their social security numbers to sign the license, and the applicable marriage license fee to complete the process. Applicants must be 18 years or older or applicants who are 16 or 17 years of age can obtain a marriage license with written parental consent or consent from a judge.
If you were previously married, you must have the date the divorce was obtained. If it has been less than a year since the divorce was final, you need to bring divorce paperwork.
Marriage License is valid 60 days from date issued. If the ceremony is not performed within the 60 day time frame the license will expire.
Marriage License is $93.50 in most counties and is payable to courthouse where obtained. Some Florida courthouses have begun accepting credit cards. Please call the Florida courthouse where you plan to purchase your license and confirm acceptance of credit cards.
Marriage License must be presented to officiant prior to start of ceremony.
Q. What is needed to get a marriage license?
A. All that is required for single adults to obtain a marriage license is for them to come in person to the Clerk's office, bring their driver license or other acceptable identification card and be prepared to pay the fee. A recent change in the law also requires both applicants to provide either their Social Security number, naturalization number, immigration number or passport number.
Q. I do not live in USA, what is needed for my license?
A. A photo passport will be enough. (Second ID: If you have a second form of photo ID, bring it as well.)
Q. Do I have to pay the marriage license fee in cash?
A. No. Payment may be made by cashier's check, certified check, money order, or credit card. All applicable marriage license fee's need to be paid to complete the process. (Please call the Florida courthouse where you plan to purchase your license and confirm acceptance of credit cards.)
Q. Is there a waiting period before our ceremony can be performed?
A. For Florida residents who file certification that they both have completed a state sanctioned marriage preparation course within the past 12 months, there is no waiting period. For Florida residents who have not both taken the course, there is a three-day waiting period between issuance of the license and the time it becomes valid for use. (Note: The parties may have taken the course separately. They are not required to have taken it together, but both must have taken it in order to qualify for the discounted fee and no-waiting period.)
Q. When must a license be filed?
A. A license must be certified and filed with the Clerk’s office within 10 days of the ceremony. You must return your license to the same Clerk's office from which it was issued.
Q. Does the waiting period apply to nonresidents of Florida?
A. No. If either party is a nonresident of this state, no waiting period is required.
Online Marriage License Pre-Application, (Brevard County, Florida)
Electronically submit your vital information in advance to expedite the marriage license application process. Couples must fill in each field on the template and then click on the "Submit" button. A congratulatory message will display and indicate the couples' application number. The couple should make note of this number at this time and click on the "Finish" button to complete the process. The information is immediately submitted electronically to the Clerk. At any time after the couple has submitted their vital information via the template, the couple can come into any of the Brevard County Clerk of Courts' five branch offices to complete the application process. All parties must be present with a picture identification card, the application number and the applicable marriage license fee to complete the process. Pre-Application
Q. Can there be exceptions to the waiting period requirement?
A. The law provides for waiving the three-day waiting period if the parties declare there is a specific "hardship" in their situation.
Q. How long is the marriage license valid?
A. Florida marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from date of issuance. The marriage license form must be returned to the Clerk's Office for recording within 10 days after the marriage is performed.
Q. How long does it usually take to get a certified copy of our marriage record?
A. Certified copies are normally received within 10 days after the completed marriage certificate is returned to the clerk's office for recording in the county's official records.
Q. Do both parties have to be present at the clerk's office to apply for a license?
A. Yes. However, exceptions can be made only when there is good cause in extreme circumstances.
Q. Are we required to have a blood test to apply for a license?
A. No. Blood tests for marriages in Florida are no longer required.
Q. How long does it take to get a license?
A. When the application is filed, the license is issued immediately. The process normally takes no more than 15 minutes. However, there is a three-day waiting period before the license becomes valid for use, if both parties are Florida residents and both parties have not completed a state sanctioned marriage preparation course.
Q. Who may Issue a Marriage License?
A. Every marriage license shall be issued by a county judge or clerk of the Circuit Court under his hand and seal. The county judge or clerk of the circuit court shall issue such license, upon application for the license, if there appears to be no impediments to the marriage.
Q. What are the age restrictions for obtaining a marriage license?
A. To obtain a license without parental consent, both the male and female must be at least 18 years of age. The 18-year minimum age does not apply for individuals who have been married previously. The age requirement can be waived by a county judge for applicants who can prove they are parents or expectant parents.
Q. Can an individual who is younger than 16 get a marriage license from the Clerk's Office with parental permission?
A. No. With or without parental permission, a marriage license to anyone under age 16 can only be issued by a county judge.
Q. Do one or both of the marriage license applicants have to be American citizens?
A. No. There is no citizenship requirement.
Q. Do we have to make an advance appointment for a license?
A. No. Licenses are issued without appointments during normal business hours.
Q. My husband and I want to renew our vows. Do we need to get a license for this?
Q. Do I need my divorce papers or spouse's death certificate in order to apply for a marriage license?
A. No. You do not need the documents, but the application does require you to note when and how your last marriage ended (divorce, annulment or death).
Q. Can I legally marry my nephew?
A. No. Although the marriage license application does not specifically ask about possible relationship of the parties, Florida law prohibits close blood relations from legally marrying. These include such relationships as parent-child; brother-sister, uncle-niece, aunt-nephew. The nearest degree of relations who may legally marry in the state of Florida is first cousins.
Q. Can people obtain licenses to marry partners of their own gender?
A. No. Florida law specifies that one applicant must be male and the other female.
Q. Can a blank Marriage License be issued?
A. It is unlawful for any county court judge or clerk of the circuit court in the state to send out of his office any marriage license signed in blank to be issued upon application to persons not in the office of the county judge or clerk of the circuit court. However, under some unusual circumstances, and at the discretion of the marriage license supervisor, an application may be filled out by one of the parties (leaving no blanks), with the understanding that the absent party will provide sworn certification subsequently in order for the license procedure to be properly validated.
Q. Who may perform Marriages?
A. All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel or elders in communion with some church, or other ordained clergy, and all judicial officers, clerks of the circuit courts, and notaries public of this state may solemnize the rights of matrimonial contract, under the regulations prescribed by law.